This document describes how to delete a specific version of a schema subject from a schema registry. There are two ways to delete a subject version:
Soft-delete. Marks the version as deleted, but its information is retained and can be recovered.
Hard-delete. Permanently removes the version and its associated data.
Required roles and permissions
To get the permissions that
you need to delete a schema subject version,
ask your administrator to grant you the
Managed Kafka Schema Registry Editor (roles/managedkafka.schemaRegistryEditor) IAM role on the parent subject.
For more information about granting roles, see Manage access to projects, folders, and organizations.
This predefined role contains the permissions required to delete a schema subject version. To see the exact permissions that are required, expand the Required permissions section:
Required permissions
The following permissions are required to delete a schema subject version:
-
Grant the following permission on the parent subject:
managedkafka.googleapis.com/subjectVersions.delete
You might also be able to get these permissions with custom roles or other predefined roles.
Soft delete a schema subject version
Here are some best practices for soft-deleting a schema subject version:
Verify that no active producers or consumers are using the schema subject version that you intend to delete.